If you are a smart Android phone user, you may have all the data on your computer back up in your Google account, such as apps, messages, settings, photos, videos synced with Google images, etc. This can be up to hundreds of gigabytes, if you use a monthly storage plan like most people.
So every platform that offers any kind of network storage has to deal with users who are “dying” and leave their accounts behind regularly, since inactive accounts can be a huge burden on the system, because cloud storage requires high server space and maintenance.
In January 2012, Financial Online reported that the 1.8 billion active users of Gmail and Gmail, the world’s largest email platform, are just one of many services provided by Google Accounts. It doesn’t take a bit of a genius to figure out that the search giant was obliged to create an effective way to care for accounts that thousands ignore every day.
active Google account manager
First of all, Google has come up with an innovative way to proactively choose what happens to your account. If you decide not to connect to the network, the main feature that addresses this issue is called Google Active Account Manager. And with that, Google gives you complete flexibility to choose what actions Google will take. Google for closing accounts and sharing information with your closest relatives if you want to go.
The first thing you set up on Active Account Manager in Google is how much time you want to allow in the event of inactivity, before running Inactive Account Manager – this can range from three to eight months until any action is taken.
What happens to your Google account after you die (1)
What does inactivity mean?
To determine inactivity, Google tracks the last time you signed in to Gmail (mobile app or anywhere else), your Google My Activity, as well as any use of your Android device within this Google account, and after choosing the non-active time you choose in Inactive Account Management, you can go ahead and pick certain trusted contacts that will be notified as soon as this time passes, but you can select no more than ten people to be notified, although most people only choose a spouse, member or two close family members.
You can send automatic email when the time is right
You can also include a personal message that is sent to the selected person(s) at the end of the predefined period, including any passwords or personal identification numbers you want, and if you prefer not to allow full access to your account for them, but to share certain files/folders that contain only important information, this is also possible.
You will be notified by SMS messages and send an email a month before activation
Once everything is set up and running without interruption, Google will start sending you multiple notifications via SMS (the phone number is mandatory for setup) as well as e-mail, one month before the deadline, but don’t worry: It did not have any notice until the entire period of inactivity was over and disabled (not deleted).
Once your account is deactivated, your trusted contact will receive an email message (along with the optional personal message), plus access to anything you choose to share with them, and if you choose to delete your account, this person will have 3 months (after deactivation) to access or download any of your data, after which the account and all of its content will be erased across the entire Google platform from the cloud.
You don’t have to delete the account
You can also choose not to delete the account after deactivation, in which case any particular contacts you share will have more time to do so as they like, and it might be useful to know that although the full deletion cannot be undone, it cannot be restarted. Use this email address again.
What if you never set up Active Account Manager?
Years ago, it used to be that after just nine months of no activity being recorded, Google deleted an account (without user notice) because it was deemed inactive, but the policy was clearly less than perfect, and was recently changed, with a new rule in place.
Inactive accounts are deleted after two years
As of June 1, 2021, Google will delete accounts that have been inactive for two years, until then, nothing will be touched or disabled and, as most of us know, free storage on Google Drive (sharing via Google Drive, Gmail and Google Photos) platforms is limited. Any increase in storage capacity beyond 15GB is in monthly batches.
Accounts that exceed the storage limit are deleted after two years
If you miss any of these monthly payments, Google promises a seven-day grace period with no penalties, which gives you time to update your payment information. Then you’ll lose the ability to send/receive Gmail emails, or upload new files to Google Drive. , or sync any images using